The Happy Wanderers Ski Club first opened in the winter of 1961. It was designed and built by our founding members (5 of whom are still active within the Club today) in a spirit of partnership and cooperation with a view to promoting year round alpine activities.
Wanderers vision is “To provide club members, their family and friends with affordable Winter and Summer Holiday opportunities in the Thredbo Alpine Village, embracing a family experience with a shared enjoyment of skiing and all year round alpine activities”.
The Happy Wanderers Ski Club was established in 1962, it was originally a bush walking club which had been established in 1958.
The Lodge was extended twice (in the ‘70’s) Manager’s facilities & bathrooms. Club volunteer skills & labour used in these developments; landscaping and ongoing maintenance. The summer of 2006/07 saw the culmination of many years planning and preparation in a large refurbishment of the Lodge. Updating all bedroom facilities, bathrooms and communal kitchen, living and dining room.
The following Club logo was created around 1960, designed by Pat Godden, with Errol Godden constructing the illuminated Lodge sign. This was originally mounted on the northern end of the Lodge – now displayed near the lower front door of the new Lodge, kindly restored by John Wholohan. The logo also appeared on all stationary, as well as cloth badges and label pins. The ski was blue with the Southern Cross, the mountains were green and the word bar was yellow.